Friday object lesson #52: Candy wrapper

Friday Object Lesson has now been going for a whole year. I started with Soviet sugar lumps and their wrapping, so to come full circle, I end the year with a candy wrapper from the Mu-Mu restaurant chain, acquired during one of my research trips in the past five years.

2015-02-25 22.28.08

I am not sure that I have enough bric-a-brac to do another entire year of Friday objects, so this is perhaps a good time to bring this feature to an end. I am considering what might be a suitable replacement.

3 thoughts on “Friday object lesson #52: Candy wrapper”

  1. I am going to miss the Friday Object Lesson, but its end is understandable. Perhaps an interesting replacement would be a series of reviews of Western books about Russia, similar to the ones you did on Walter Laquer’s “Putinism” and Peter Pomerantsev’s “Nothing Is True and Everything is Possible”. Both reviews were thoughtful and generated a lot of interesting discussion. Of course, it wouldn’t be realistic to put one out every week — maybe one every month/two months. Considering the myriad of new releases (Steven Lee Myers’ “New Tsar”, Garry Kasparov’s “Winter is Coming”, etc.), you’d have a lot of choices. Just a suggestion.
    Keep up the great work.

    Like

    1. More book reviews are certainly on their way. I’m currently reading Oleg Khlevniuk’s ‘Stalin’ and Marvin Kalb’s ‘Imperial Gamble’, which I will review when finished. I saw Myers’ ‘New Tsar’ in the book store today. Maybe I’ll get it, but I’m not sure as I don’t know if I want to have to read yet another journalistic account of Putin. I wasn’t aware of the Kasparov book, which I see came out just a few days ago, so I will take a look at that. Thanks for the suggestion.

      Like

      1. I’m glad I could help, and I can’t wait for the reviews. Personally, my expectations are set pretty low for Kasparov’s book (“Why Vladimir Putin and the Enemies of the Free World Must Be Stopped”…hmm.)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

